Smashing sixes, fantastic fours, and spectacular hundreds – the Indian Premier League is full of high-octane action. That is exactly why the fans can’t seem to get enough of the tournament. You have watched some outstanding centuries being scored in the IPL. But do you know who has scored the most hundreds in IPL? Well, here is the list of the names of the cricketers who have the most hundreds in IPL. Read on! 

1. Chris Gayle (Six centuries) 

The name that comes up at the top in terms of scoring the most hundreds in IPL is none other than Chris Gayle. Gayle is undoubtedly one of the finest T20 players of all time, and he has six centuries to date in the IPL. The first of his six centuries in IPL history was in 2011 when he scored 102 runs in only 55 balls by hitting 7 sixes and 10 fours. His last century in the IPL was against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018. It was the season where Gayle wasn’t sold in the first round of the IPL auction, before being finally chosen by Punjab. 

2. Virat Kohli (Five centuries) 

His name might come up second in the list of the most hundreds in IPL, but he didn’t have any century to his name in IPL until 2016. In this fateful year, he smashed all the big records by scoring four centuries in one season and gaining a total of 973 runs. His exceptional efforts helped Bangalore reach the finals and finish at the second position in the IPL points table. Kohli’s fifth century was in 2019 when he scored 100 runs in 58 balls against KKR.  

3. David Warner (Four centuries) 

Any list of the most hundreds in IPL will remain incomplete without the mention of David Warner. The cricketer has four tons in IPL so far, and hopefully, he will add more centuries to his name this season and onwards. Out of his four centuries in IPL history, the first was in 2010 when he played for Delhi, and the second was in 2012. His first century as a part of Sunrisers Hyderabad came in 2017 against KKR. Then, in 2019, while playing against RCB, Jonny Bairstow and David Warner both scored centuries in one match. 

4. Shane Watson (Four centuries) 

Shane Watson might have bid goodbye to IPL, but his name remains in the list of the most hundreds in IPL. It was his remarkable skills and centuries in IPL history that helped Rajasthan Royals earn their title in the first season of IPL. In the year 2018, he scored 117 runs off 57 balls against Sunrisers Hyderabad to make Chennai Super Kings the winner. 

The bottom line 

Hopefully, the players will add more centuries to their name in this season of IPL. That will give them all the more reasons to rejoice. That’s all the sports news for today! Stay tuned for more updates.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *